Glitch City Laboratories Archives

Glitch City Laboratories closed on 1 September 2020 (announcement). This is an archived copy of a thread from Glitch City Laboratories Forums.

You can join Glitch City Research Institute to ask questions or discuss current developments.

You may also download the archive of this forum in .tar.gz, .sql.gz, or .sqlite.gz formats.

Generation I Glitch Discussion

Not really a glitch, but maybe an oversight (R/B/Y) - Page 1

Not really a glitch, but maybe an oversight (R/B/Y)

Posted by: 46664
Date: 2012-12-17 20:27:46
Turns out if you get 150 (one being Mew instead of one of the first 150) you still get your diploma.  Just a little thing I tested out.  Wanted to see if anything happened.  I got a diploma without having Magmar (thanks Mew). :P

Re: Not really a glitch, but maybe an oversight (R/B/Y)

Posted by: GARYM9
Date: 2012-12-17 20:47:37
You weren't supposed to get mew ever really, except as a special secret.

Posted by: SCared_Fir3
Date: 2012-12-17 21:30:27
Probably an oversight, since yeah you're not really supposed to get Mew.
Speaking of Magmar, I always forgot it was a first gen pokemon. :P

Posted by: Raven Freak
Date: 2012-12-18 12:52:53
I think technically you were only supposed to get Mew during a special event, and not by any other means. :P Hence the code only checks to see if you have 150 species registered in the Pokedex, instead of 151. You could technically miss one Pokemon and still the game will assume you have caught 'em all! Even then they should have changed that bit of code, because i'm sure there were people who got Mew through official means at one point. :V I'm sure this code will work in Green and Red too, but for S's and G's I might try it out. xD

Date: 2012-12-19 12:27:07