Glitch City Laboratories Archives

Glitch City Laboratories closed on 1 September 2020 (announcement). This is an archived copy of a thread from Glitch City Laboratories Forums.

You can join Glitch City Research Institute to ask questions or discuss current developments.

You may also download the archive of this forum in .tar.gz, .sql.gz, or .sqlite.gz formats.

Generation I Glitch Discussion

Gameshark code - Page 1

Gameshark code

Posted by: iamnguyen
Date: 2016-07-16 19:54:33
Hello, I am new to Gameshark code. Any help is much appreciated.

I wonder how stat modifier works. For example:

Special Modifier
01??C0DA
01??C1DA

What do I change for each line? Let's say I want to change the special of my pokemon to 999, what value do I need to have? Please help. Thank you very much in advance.

Re: Gameshark code

Posted by: Ketsuban
Date: 2016-07-17 03:45:48
999 is 3E7 in hex, so I believe the variables would be E7 and 03, respectively. Do, however, double-check or more before taking it into production.

Also, don't post the same thing multiple times in different boards.

Posted by: Krys3000
Date: 2016-07-17 03:53:13
Every gameshark code induces a modification of the value (which is an hexadecimal number going from 00 to FF) of a given address. In the code "01??C0DA", the value of RAM address $DAC0 becomes "??".

Translated into decimal, FF is 255. As you can see, one RAM address is not enough to deal with a stat. We need to combine two RAM addresses, so the values can go up to FFFF (65535 in decimal - but of course the game will not allow you to go that far).

Anyway, a stat of dec:999 can be translated to hex:03E7. That means the first gameshark code should then be 0103C0DA and the second one 01E7C1DA.

To translate decimal into hexadecimal, don't hesitate to use Windows' calculator.

Posted by: ISSOtm
Date: 2016-07-17 05:08:14