Glitch City Laboratories Archives

Glitch City Laboratories closed on 1 September 2020 (announcement). This is an archived copy of a thread from Glitch City Laboratories Forums.

You can join Glitch City Research Institute to ask questions or discuss current developments.

You may also download the archive of this forum in .tar.gz, .sql.gz, or .sqlite.gz formats.

Generation I Glitch Discussion

Pokemon's nickname randomly got really long? - Page 1

Pokemon's nickname randomly got really long?

Posted by: Paras
Date: 2016-10-23 04:01:20
Hi, kind of a glitch noob here but I never saw this happen before so I thought I'd post about it. Okay, first off, this was on a Blue rom and I had used the Universal Pokemon Randomizer on it, so I don't know if that maybe had something to do with it somehow (though I use it a lot and I had never seen it cause a glitch like this). But I hadn't used any other glitches or gameshark codes etc, in this game.

Basically, I had a Nidorino in the PC, and his nickname somehow changed to have a really long space and the letters "LFAF" at the end of it. I've heard that some glitch Pokemon have really long names, never really messed around with them myself, but I think they have this same effect, I would have to press A/B a lot on any screen his name was on, like I had to scroll through it (even if his name wasn't actually in the text box at the bottom). (So you can probably skip the next paragraph if you know the effects of long names haha)