Glitch City Laboratories Archives

Glitch City Laboratories closed on 1 September 2020 (announcement). This is an archived copy of a thread from Glitch City Laboratories Forums.

You can join Glitch City Research Institute to ask questions or discuss current developments.

You may also download the archive of this forum in .tar.gz, .sql.gz, or .sqlite.gz formats.

Generation I Glitch Discussion

PKMN R/B - ACE: How to Exec code from ram? - Page 1

PKMN R/B - ACE: How to Exec code from ram?

Posted by: Klohver
Date: 2017-04-12 10:37:04
Hi, I am new to the pokemon glitching scene, I have been playing pkm r/b since it first came out, and started glitching for the past few years. I am familiar with the item underflow, trainer fly, and other glitches. What really interests me is arbitrary code execution. My plan is to, using 8F to bootstrap my game on console, and be able to write a code similar to the one where TheZZAZZGlitch used pokemon r/b/y to load super mario, pokemon crystal, etc, but have it execute things back into the same cartridge, for example: code it to reset the game, then I can start a new game in pokemon r/b with that code running so when I start the new game, I will have a certain setup right off the bat. For instance: having item 8F right from pallet town, having items, badges, 151 pokemon, being able to item underflow, or even possibly creating some sort of GUI or entry into the start menu that can be accessed to edit memory addresses that are out of reach of the item underflow glitch, all from the get go. I haven't seen anyone do this yet so I'm hoping there is someone out there who could direct me on how to accomplish this. I get the gyst of how to bootstrap, but I am not familiar with the ASM code so I have no idea how to start this project? Any and all help will be super appreciated  ;D

Re: PKMN R/B - ACE: How to Exec code from ram?

Posted by: jfb1337
Date: 2017-04-12 13:02:12