Glitch City Laboratories Archives

Glitch City Laboratories closed on 1 September 2020 (announcement). This is an archived copy of a thread from Glitch City Laboratories Forums.

You can join Glitch City Research Institute to ask questions or discuss current developments.

You may also download the archive of this forum in .tar.gz, .sql.gz, or .sqlite.gz formats.

Generation I Glitch Discussion

Dumb question because I'm new to all this... - Page 1

Dumb question because I'm new to all this...

Posted by: hello
Date: 2018-06-11 15:13:33
How do people figure out what items to throw away (and what order to put them in, etc) when doing arbitrary code execution? I assume people don't just guess until something works, especially with the very specific things. Do they first write it as a program, translate it to binary and then translate that to the byte values, which they then translate to the corresponding item/amount combinations? I'm sorry if this is super obvious, but a quick Google search didn't give clear results and this all seems very interesting.

Re: Dumb question because I'm new to all this...

Posted by: Couldntthinkofaname
Date: 2018-06-11 16:01:35

How do people figure out what items to throw away (and what order to put them in, etc) when doing arbitrary code execution? I assume people don't just guess until something works, especially with the very specific things. Do they first write it as a program, translate it to binary and then translate that to the byte values, which they then translate to the corresponding item/amount combinations? I'm sorry if this is super obvious, but a quick Google search didn't give clear results and this all seems very interesting.

The quantity of the item used, as well as the item's ID (what determines the item) are all values that represent Sharp LR35902 Assembly instructions (GBZ80, for short).