Glitch City Laboratories Archives

Glitch City Laboratories closed on 1 September 2020 (announcement). This is an archived copy of a thread from Glitch City Laboratories Forums.

You can join Glitch City Research Institute to ask questions or discuss current developments.

You may also download the archive of this forum in .tar.gz, .sql.gz, or .sqlite.gz formats.

Generation II Glitch Discussion

Are gen 2 "somewhat" glitched clones ok to keep? Can I breed them? - Page 1

Are gen 2 "somewhat" glitched clones ok to keep? Can I breed them?

Posted by: Lost-Paisley
Date: 2018-03-12 20:10:18
So I started playing Crystal VC and learned that the cloning glitch has more precision than in Gold/Silver.

I did it so I could have all 3 starters and managed to do it perfectly on the first go with Totodile (nicknamed "Dile"). However, my second attempt with Cyndaquil didn't go so well.
While Cyndaquil itself turned out ok, it ended up getting Totodile's nickname but was otherwise intact with no other issues. Totodile didn't get the same treatment:

https://i.imgur.com/2xyn5AR.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/nKAkWCE.jpg
https://i.imgur.com/QYj42iN.jpg

Totodile's nickname is glitched with my player's name at the end (Yuuki), but it's very short and doesn't lock up the game or anything if I use it in battle (the name appears as "?" in the party). The OT is "?", but other than that it's still a Totodile according to the game and has no other issues I'm aware of.

What I wanna know is, is this Totodile safe to keep? Could I potentially breed it and get a regular Totodile and get rid of it if I can't fix the garbled name?