Glitch City Laboratories Archives

Glitch City Laboratories closed on 1 September 2020 (announcement). This is an archived copy of a thread from Glitch City Laboratories Forums.

You can join Glitch City Research Institute to ask questions or discuss current developments.

You may also download the archive of this forum in .tar.gz, .sql.gz, or .sqlite.gz formats.

Arbitrary Code Execution Discussion

Making sense of the arbitrary code execution glitch - Page 1

Making sense of the arbitrary code execution glitch

Posted by: iamnguyen
Date: 2016-07-16 17:53:23
Hi, I am new to glitches. I have read several posts but still have a hard time understanding this glitch. Any help is much appreciated.

On one of the posts, it is stated that I can use Gameshark code with this method.

The following item list will work the same way a game-altering device does.

8F

Any item x Any qty

X Accuracy x(b2)

Carbon x(b3)

Max Revive x(b1)

Poké Ball x201

To obtain the 201 Poké Balls stack, have Poké Balls x73 in the sixth item pack slot, then encounter / capture MissingNo or 'M. It will be a stack of 201 Poké Balls. It is also possible to use the Non-key items duplication code.

This code aims to write code like the Gameshark code "01(b1)(b2)(b3)".

For example, the code 010138CD, which allows to walk through walls, can be transcripted into the following :

X Accuracy x(b2)

Carbon x(b3)

Max Revive x(b1)

Poké Ball x201

I notice that many Gameshark codes contain letters. How can I make an item list to accommodate that? Please help. Thank you very much in advance.

Re: Making sense of the arbitrary code execution glitch

Posted by: ISSOtm
Date: 2016-07-16 18:08:05
The gameshark codes are written in hexadecimal forms, and what you are looking for is a decimal form.
I could tell you :