Glitch City Laboratories Archives

Glitch City Laboratories closed on 1 September 2020 (announcement). This is an archived copy of a thread from Glitch City Laboratories Forums.

You can join Glitch City Research Institute to ask questions or discuss current developments.

You may also download the archive of this forum in .tar.gz, .sql.gz, or .sqlite.gz formats.

Video Game Glitches Discussion

Mega Man X reset glitch - Page 1

Mega Man X reset glitch

Posted by: IttyBitty
Date: 2010-03-27 00:13:07
I recently became re-addicted to the Mega Man X series, and in looking up random glitch videos on Youtube, I found one that I've never personally experienced, but that seems to appear in video after video.

Now I'm not sure if this glitch appears on the SNES version (not mine, at least) or only on ROMs or emulators (forgive me on the topic of emulators, etc.- I have zero experience with them, or their terminology).
But here's the gist of it.
In most every video I've seen, the levels will play normally until the player fires their X-buster at something that deflects it (i.e. the igloos in Chill Penguin's stage, Chill Penguin when he's sliding/about to slide). When they do so, the screen fades out, and fades back in to the "You got *insert weapon here*!" screen. From here, the game will occasionally go back to the level select screen. More often, though, the screen fades out, and then fades back in to the HIGHWAY stage instead- the intro stage. The player will retain whatever weapon they just got, but any upgrades (such as the dash upgrade) will vanish mysteriously.

I actually find it quite funny to listen to the people in the videos freaking out. But I digress. :P