Glitch City Laboratories Archives

Glitch City Laboratories closed on 1 September 2020 (announcement). This is an archived copy of a thread from Glitch City Laboratories Forums.

You can join Glitch City Research Institute to ask questions or discuss current developments.

You may also download the archive of this forum in .tar.gz, .sql.gz, or .sqlite.gz formats.

Programming/Scripting/Development/Web Design

8F Script Help, Simple Text Box - Page 1

8F Script Help, Simple Text Box

Posted by: Connor
Date: 2018-06-26 23:07:19
Hello all, I've been trying to figure out a script that I can implement using 8F. All I want to do is have a text box appear with whatever text I want in it. I've been using TheZZAZZGlitch's creepy pasta script as a reference, but I'm fairly new to assembly and don't understand all of the syntax he uses. Near the beginning of the script, he has dw _DBA5_Tx_DoNotBe ; Text pointer for text ID $01 ["DO NOT BE AFRAID"]
but then doesn't actually have the values _DBA5_Tx_DoNotBe:
db 00,83,8e,7f,8d,8e,93,4f,81,84,7f,80,85,91,80,88,83,51
db 88,93,7f,96,8e,8d,93,7f,87,84,8b,8f,4f,98,8e,94,7f,80,93,7f,80,8b,8b,57
; DO NOT BE AFRAID :: IT WONT HELP YOU AT ALL
until the end of the script. Also, in the part where he actually calls the text box function ld a,$01
ld ($ff00+8c),a
call $2920          ; Display the text ID #1 (DO NOT BE AFRAID)
I don't really understand what "ld ($ff00+8c),a" does or how it is used in this script.
I suppose my two main questions are: what does he do to define that text as having text id 01, and what does "ld ($ff00+8c),a" do in this script? Any help or information would be appreciated. Sorry for the long-winded post, and thanks in advance.

Re: 8F Script Help, Simple Text Box

Posted by: Couldntthinkofaname
Date: 2018-06-27 07:35:15
Near the beggining of his code, the following is written:

ld hl,$d36c
ld (hl),$03
inc hl
ld (hl),$db      ; Set $D36C to $03DB [Repoint current map's text table to $DB03]