Glitch City Laboratories Archives

Glitch City Laboratories closed on 1 September 2020 (announcement). This is an archived copy of a thread from Glitch City Laboratories Forums.

You can join Glitch City Research Institute to ask questions or discuss current developments.

You may also download the archive of this forum in .tar.gz, .sql.gz, or .sqlite.gz formats.

Generation II Glitch Discussion

G/S/C glitch discussion - Page 2

Re: G/S/C glitch discussion

Posted by: Pokeglitch86
Date: 2013-05-12 23:15:06
I'm really no expert on how the GameBoy addresses and uses it's RAM. I would imagine that it uses it's own internal RAM up until you hit save at which point it transfers the updated save file to the cartridge RAM. Perhaps the glitch somehow instructed the processor to address and write to the cartridge RAM which would had corrupted the save file.

Try cloning Red Gyarados. Always seemed to work pretty well. Some pokemon definitely work better than others. And again, you can use any "bad clone" for the Celebi Trick. For example if you had a Sneasel with Beat Up you could use a Gyarados bad clone as a substitute for the Sneasel bad clone and it'd work. Of course I recommend getting a non hybrid ????? and just using that.

Posted by: MrGlitch
Date: 2013-05-13 22:53:10
Has anyone on here messed around with address 0049 in the ROM of G/S/C? Specifically, changing the first byte of the line to 11 or 13.

agusganog made some great videos of its effects. I have only been able to get past the startup screen once. 
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ld06wjxC6MI

In every case so far, it's crashed when I attempt to do anything in the overworld. But there are lots of fun title screen effects - text glitching, palette changes, graphics glitches, et al. - and it literally glitches itself (no more mashing the A button for line errors!).

I also somehow got the correct password for resetting the clock, by picking some completely random digits. I've never seen that happen before.